



7. Governance of Graduate Degree Programs

Overview

Describes the governance of the University's graduate academic programs and explains how this operates in practice with respect to:

- 1. Creation of new academic programs or their component parts;
- 2. Modifications to established academic programs or their component parts; and
- 3. Periodic internal and external review of academic programs.

Scope

Unless specified otherwise, the policies in the following sections apply to all graduate academic programs.

Objective

Graduate academic programs are designed, implemented and managed by the Colleges of the UAEU under the oversight of the CGS, and in the context of University governance structures, policies and procedures. This governance operates to ensure the high standards of the graduate academic programs consistent with the mission of the UAEU.

Policy

- 1. The Dean of CGS is charged with ensuring the high standards of graduate academic programs, and designing and implementing effective Policies and Procedures to achieve this. The Dean of the CGS is also responsible for ensuring compliance with Policies and Procedures, and for reporting instances of non-compliance to the Provost.
- 2. Colleges will act appropriately to review their graduate programs with their constituencies. These measures may include the establishment of Academic Advisory Boards for graduate programs. Terms of Reference detailing mission, membership, function and activities of such Advisory Boards are to be set by the host College, and filed with the College of Graduate Studies.
- 3. Policies and Procedures are set out in this Manual and published on the UAEU website. Proposals for additions, deletions, or other amendments to the Manual may originate from any user of the Manual, and go through the process set out for that purpose.
- 4. Depending on the nature of the proposal, creation or modification of graduate academic programs is subject to approval of the College Council, the Graduate Studies Council, the University Program and Curriculum Committee, the Academic Council, and the University Council, as defined in the Signatory Authority.